Benfica wins 38th Portuguese Primeira Liga title

The Portuguese professional soccer Primeira Liga has completed its “rebuilding of the franchise” with Benfica’s 38th regular season title in four years.

Benfica won the final match of the 34th round of the 2022-2023 Primeira Liga with a 3-0 victory over last-place Santa Clara at Estadio da Luz in Lisbon, Portugal, on Monday (Aug. 28).

Benfica, who finished the season with 87 points, maintained a two-point lead over second-place Porto (85 points), which defeated sixth-place Guimarães 3-0 earlier in the day, to claim the title.

Benfica is now the winningest team in Primeira Liga history with 38 titles.

Benfica is especially pleased to have regained the trophy after four years, having lost the title in the previous three seasons to rivals Porto and Sporting 메이저놀이터.

After winning the title in 2018-2019, Benfica finished second (to Porto) in 2019-2020, third (to Sporting) in 2020-2021, and third (to Porto) in 2021-2022.

This season, Benfica cruised to their first defeat in round 14, before suffering their first back-to-back defeats of the season in rounds 27-28 and drawing with Benfica in round 33 to finish second on goal difference to Porto, who held on to win the title.

Meanwhile, Portimonense, the club of U-20 international striker Kim Yong-hak, 20, lost 0-2 to Arouca in the final game of the season, but remained in 15th place to secure their place in the top flight.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *